University of Pittsburgh

Department of Neuroscience

Faculty

Faculty with Primary Appointments

 

Sved, Alan F.

Professor and Chairman, Neuroscience
Central neural control of the autonomic nervous system and cardiovascular function

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-6996
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: sved@pitt.edu

Website:

Barrionuevo, German

Professor, Neuroscience and Psychiatry
Synaptic physiology in hippocampus and prefrontal cortex

Address: A467 Crawford Hall
Telephone: 412-624-7330
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: german@pitt.edu

Website: http://www.pitt.edu/~german/

Card, J. Patrick

Professor, Neuroscience and Psychiatry
Functional organization of hypothalamus and central autonomic networks

Address: A415 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-6995
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: card@pitt.edu

Website:

Cohen, Marlene

Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Using attention to study cortical population codes

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-268-4486
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: cohenm@pitt.edu

Website: http://marlenecohen.com/

Colby, Carol L.

Professor, Neuroscience
Cortical mechanisms of memory, attention, and spatial representation

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-268-7295
Fax: 412-268-5060
E-mail: ccolby@pitt.edu

Website:

Dong, Yan

Assistant Professor, Neuroscience
Cellular and circuitry mechanisms underlying pathological neural plasticity

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-5043
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: yandong@pitt.edu

Website: http://www.learningandmemory.org/

 

Grace, Anthony A.

Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience

Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology
Neurophysiology of basal ganglia system related to psychiatric disorders

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4609
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: graceaa@pitt.edu

Website: www.pitt.edu/~graceaa

Johnson, Jon W.

Professor, Neuroscience and Psychiatry
Biophysics, pharmacology, and regulation of glutamate receptors

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4295
Fax: 412-624-4393
E-mail: jjohnson@pitt.edu

Website:

Meriney, Stephen D.

Professor, Neuroscience, Psychiatry
Regulation and modulation of presynaptic ion channels and transmitter release in healthy and diseased synapses

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-8283
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: meriney@pitt.edu

Website:

Moghaddam, Bita

Professor, Neuroscience
Cellular basis of goal-directed behavior and animal models of schizophrenia

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-2653
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: bita@pitt.edu

Website: www.moghaddamlab.org

Oswald-Doiron, Anne-Marie

Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Contributions of cortical microcircuit properties to information processing and coding in the olfactory system

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-1191
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: amoswald@pitt.edu

Website:

Rinaman, Linda

Professor, Neuroscience
Neural circuits for anxiety, stress, and emotional learning: organization and postnatal development

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-6994
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: rinaman@pitt.edu

Website:

Sesack, Susan R.

Professor, Neuroscience
Functional neuroanatomy of cortical and monoamine systems

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-5158
Fax: 412-624-9878
E-mail: sesack@pitt.edu

Website:

Stricker, Edward M.

University Professor, Neuroscience

Dean, Honors College
Central control of homeostatic regulatory systems

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4569
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: edstrick@pitt.edu

Website:

Wood, David C.

Emeritus Associate Professor, Neuroscience
Mechanical stimulus transduction and habituation

Address: A210 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4514
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: dwood@pitt.edu

Website:

 

Faculty with Secondary or Adjunct Appointments

Barth, Alison

Adjunct Associate Professor Biological Sciences, Carnegie Mellon University and Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition

Plasticity in developing and adult neocortex

Address:159 Mellon Institute
Telephone:412-268-5060
E-mail: albarth@andrew.cmu.edu

Website: CMU; CNUP

Bradberry, Charles

Professor of Psychiatry

Understanding the cognitive consequences of cocaine use at the structural and cellular levels in primates.

Address: 4066 BST3
Telephone: 412-383-6200
E-mail: bradberrycw@upmc.edu

Website: CNUP

DeFranco, Donald B.

Professor of Pharmacology, Neuroscience
Signal transduction and neurodegeneration

Address: 7041 BST3
Telephone: 412-624-4259
E-mail: dod1@pitt.edu

Website: CNUP; Pharmacology

Fiez, Julie

Professor Psychology, Neuroscience
Neuroimaging and behavioral studies of language, working memory, motivation, and learning

Address: 605 Learning Research Development Center
Telephone: 412-624-7078
E-mail: fiez@pitt.edu

Website: CNUP; Psychology

Gandhi, Neeraj

Gandhi.jpgAssociate Professor, Otolaryngology, Neuroscience, Bioengineering, Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition
Neural control of coordinated oculomotor and skeletomotor movements

Address: 108 Eye & Ear Institute
Telephone: 412-647-3076
E-mail: neg8@pitt.edu

Hastings, Teresa

Dr. Hastings Associate Professor, Neurology, Neuroscience
Oxidative mechanisms associated with neurodegeneration

Address: 7038 BST3
Telephone: 412-624-9716
E-mail: thastings@pitt.edu

 

Holt, Lori

Click to Enlarge Photo . . . Professor, Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University
Speech perception and learning

Address: 254K Baker Hall
Telephone: 412-268-4964
E-mail: loriholt@cmu.edu

 

 

Kass, Robert E.

 

Adjunct Professor, Neuroscience

Statistical Analysis of Neural Data


Address: 229H Baker Hall

Telephone:412-268-8723

Fax:412-268-7828

E-mail: kass@stat.cmu.edu

Lee, Tai Sing

Adjunct Associate Professor, Computer Science, CMU
Computational and electrophysiological study of visual perception, perceptual organization, neural plasticity and neural coding; computer vision

Address: 115 Mellon Institute
Telephone: 412-268-1060
E-mail: tai@cnbc.cmu.edu

Lewis, David

Photo of Dave Professor, Psychiatry
Functional architecture of the prefrontal cortex and schizophrenia

Address: W1651 Biomedical Science Tower
Telephone: 412-624-3934
E-mail: lewisda@upmc.edu

Olson, Carl

Adjunct Professor, Neuroscience, Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition
Cortical mechanisms of cognition in primates

Address:115 Mellon Institute
Telephone: 412-268-3968
E-mail: colson@cnbc.cmu.edu

 

Tarr, Michael

Click to Enlarge Photo . . .Adjunct Professor, Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University
Cognitive perception

Address: 115C Mellon Institute
Telephone: 412-268-4379
Fax: 412-268-5060
E-mail: michaeltarr@cmu.edu

Website:

Urban, Nathaniel

Adjunct Professor, Biological Sciences, Carnegie Mellon University
Physiology imaging and computation in the olfactory system

Address: 173 Mellon Institute
Telephone: 412-268-5122
E-mail: nurban@cmu.edu

Yates, Bill J.

Professor, Otolaryngology and Neuroscience
Vestibular Influences on Autonomic Control and Navigation

Address: 519 E&E Inst.
Telephone: 412-647-9614
Fax: 412-647-0180
E-mail: byates@pitt.edu

 

Research Faculty

Agassandian, Khristofor (Card)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: A415D Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-6968
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: khrisag@pitt.edu

Belujon, Pauline (Grace)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: A454 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4352
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: belujon@pitt.edu

Cano, Georgina (Card)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: A452 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-8356
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: gcano@pitt.edu

Gill, Kathryn (Grace)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: A454 Langley Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4352
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: gillkm@pitt.edu

Povysheva, Nadezda (Johnson)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: 465 Crawford Hall
Telephone: 412-624-4299
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: nvp1@pitt.edu

Zheng, Huiyuan (Rinaman)

Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience

Address: A210 Langley Hall

Office: 447 Crawford Hall
Telephone: 412-624-5229
Fax: 412-624-9198
E-mail: zhengh@pitt.edu

 

 

Teaching Faculty

A listing of our teaching faculty is found here